Monday, 6 July 2015

Sites in Sicily inscribed on UNESCO’s World Heritage List in 2015

Capital in the Monreale cloister.

La Zisa, Norman castle in Palermo. 

The Palatine chapel (Cappella Palatina): The wooden ceiling of star-shaped panels, carved and painted by 12th century craftsmen from Maghreb. 

Martorana (Santa Maria dell'Ammiraglio), Palermo

Christ Pantocrator in Martorana (Santa Maria dell'Ammiraglio), Palermo. The 12th century mosaics were executed by Byzantine craftsmen.

Sicilian sites inscribed on UNESCO’s World Heritage List in 2015:

Arab-Norman Palermo and the Cathedral Churches of Cefalú and Monreale (Italy)

Located on the northern coast of Sicily, Arab-Norman Palermo includes a series of nine civil and religious structures dating from the era of the Norman kingdom of Sicily (1130-1194): two palaces, three churches, a cathedral, a bridge, as well as the cathedrals of Cefalú and Monreale.

Collectively, they are an example of a social-cultural syncretism between Western, Islamic and Byzantine cultures on the island which gave rise to new concepts of space, structure and decoration. They also bear testimony to the fruitful coexistence of people of different origins and religions (Muslim, Byzantine, Latin, Jewish, Lombard and French).

The monuments now on UNESCO’s World Heritage List

- Palazzo dei Normanni (The Norman Palace)
- Cappella Palatina (The Palatine Chapel in the Norman Palace)
- Church of San Giovanni degli Eremiti
- Church of Santa Maria dell'Ammiraglio (also known as the Martorana)
- Church of San Cataldo
- Cathedral of Palermo
- The Zisa Palace (La Zisa)
- The Cuba Palace (La Cuba)

Cathedral (Duomo)

Cathedral (Duomo)

UNESCO World Heritage List

No comments:

Post a Comment